Zoo Education

Zoo Education Broadens the Realization of Animals (Z.E.B.R.A.)

Z.E.B.R.A. Classes at Dickerson Park Zoo open the amazing world of animals to children from tots to teens. Encourage curiosity, appreciation and wonder with up-close animal encounters where students learn through hands-on activities and experiences, crafts, stories and games, all designed to instill a lifelong love of learning and animal conservation and care.  All education classes take place in the Gaska Family Education Wing building located a short drive from the front gate.  See map for details.  Registration for classes closes at noon one day prior to date of the class to allow teachers time to prepare.  

For more information about upcoming Z.E.B.R.A. classes, download the Fall and Winter

PDF below. 

Fall 2017 Z.E.B.R.A Classes

Zoo Tots classes are designed to spark curiosity and encourage discover in young children.  Classes include a craft, meeting animal friends and finding out fascinating facts.

Age:  Children ages 2-5 (students who have not yet started kindergarten) with an adult
Fee per session:  $10/FOZ Member; $15/Non-member
Time:  10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

September: Monarch Migrations
#300 Wednesday, September 20
#301 Friday, September 22
#302 Saturday, September 23 FULL
#303 Tuesday, September 26

October:  Down on the Farm
#304 Wednesday, October 18
#305 Friday, October 20
#306 Saturday, October 21
#307 Tuesday, October 24

November: Animal Tails and Tales
#308 Wednesday, November 15
#309 Thursday, November 16
#310 Saturday, November 18
#311 Tuesday, November 21

December: Sharks and Rays
#312 Tuesday, December 19
#313 Wednesday, December 20
#314 Friday, December 22
#315 Saturday, December 23

 

Students ages 4 to 5 will enjoy a longer class with time to tour the zoo, crafts, animal visits, stories, snack, and more.  Please wear close toed shoes.  Zoo tours are weather dependent.

Age: Children ages 4 and 5 (students who are not yet enrolled in kindergarten) Adults do not stay with children.
Time: 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Fee per session: $20/FOZ Member; $30/Non-member

October:  Loco Locomotion
#316 Saturday, October 7

November:  Eye Spy: A Closer Look at Animal Vision
#317 Saturday, November 4

A 45 minute program with story time and crafts.  Kids learn fun facts about the month's featured creature.

Age: Children ages 2 to 6 with an adult
Fee per session: $10/FOZ Member; $15/Non-member
Time: 10:30 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.

September: Cheetah
#330 Wednesday, September 27
#331 Thursday, September 28
#332 Saturday, September 30

October: Tomato Frog
#333 Wednesday, October 25
#334 Thursday, October 26

November: Missouri Hawks
#335 Friday, November 17
#336 Wednesday, November 22
#337 Saturday, November 25

December: White Tail Deer
#338 Wednesday, December 27
#339 Thursday, December 28
#340 Saturday, December 30

Kindergarten and first graders are invited to join us for our exciting Fall Series lineup. Each three hour class includes a myriad of activities including zoo tours, crafts, animal visits, stories, snack, and more.  Please wear close toed shoes.  Zoo tours are weather dependent.

Age: Students enrolled in kindergarten and 1st grade.  Adults do not stay with children.
Time: 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Fee per session: $20:00/FOZ Member; $30/Non-Member

September: Monarch Migrations
#320 Saturday, September 16

October: Loco Locomotion
#321 Saturday, October 14

November: Eye Spy: A Closer Look at Animal Vision
#322 Saturday, November 11

December: Sharks and Rays
#323 Saturday, December 16

Join us at the zoo each month as we focus on a different topic.  From learning about a new animal, to "visiting" a different part of the world, to even trying out a new art technique, there's always so much to see and do at Dickerson Park Zoo!

Age:  Children enrolled in second or third grade
Fee per session:  $20/FOZ Members ; $30/Non-member
Time:  2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

#350      Sunday, September 17
#351      Sunday, October 15
#352      Sunday, November 12
#353      Sunday, December 10

Join us at the zoo each month as we focus on a different topic.  From learning about a new animal, to "visiting" a different part of the world, to even trying out a new art technique, there's always so much to see and do at Dickerson Park Zoo!

Age: Children enrolled in fourth or fifth grade
Session fee: $20/Member ; $30/Non-member
Time: 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

#354 Sunday, September 24
#355 Sunday, October 22
#356 Sunday, November 19
#357 Sunday, December 17

If you're interested in how birds eat, build nests and feed their babies, this class is for you.  Learn the skill of using binoculars, identifying birds and more at this two-day camp.  You'll also get a chance to meet some birds up close and personal.

Session fee: $120/FOZ Member ; $150/Non-member
Time: 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Grades 4 & 5
#360 November 6 & 7

Grades 6, 7 & 8
#361 September 9 & 16

High School students interested in veterinary medicine will work with Dickerson Park Zoo's veterinarian Dr. Rodney Schnellbacher.  Spend a day assisting Dr. Schnellbacher and the veterinary staff and see what it is like to care for exotic animals.

Students are required to wear closed-toe shoes and bring their own lunch.

Session fee: $75/FOZ Member ; $100/Non-member
Time: 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

#363 Monday, October 16, 2017  CLOSED
#364 Monday, January 15, 2018
#365 Monday, February 19, 2018

Spring 2018 Z.E.B.R.A Classes

Zoo Tots classes are designed to spark curiosity and encourage discover in young children.  Classes include a craft, meeting animal friends and finding out fascinating facts.

Age:  Children ages 2-5 (students who have not yet started kindergarten) with an adult
Fee per session:  $10/FOZ Member; $15/Non-member
Time:  10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.

January: Fur, Feathers, Scales, and Skin
#100 Wednesday, January 17
#101 Friday, January 19
#102 Tuesday, January 23

February:  Who Has a Heart?
Examining that 'lub-dub' in our chests
#103 Wednesday, February 21
#104 Friday, February 23
#105 Saturday, February 24
#106 Tuesday, February 27

March: Living or Non-Living?
#107 Thursday, March 15
#108 Friday, March 16
#109 Wednesday, March 21
#110 Saturday, March 24

April: Funny Bones
#111 Wednesday, April 18
#112 Friday, April 20
#113 Saturday, April 21
#114 Tuesday, April 24

 

ROAR for Dinosaurs!

Learn more about dinosaurs!  Students ages 4 and 5 will enjoy a longer class time for a zoo tour, crafts, animal visits, stories, snacks, and more.  Zoo tours are weather dependent.

Age: Children ages 4 and 5 (students who are not yet enrolled in kindergarten) Adults do not stay with children.
Fee per session: $20/FOZ Member; $30/Non-member

#120 Saturday, March 10
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

#121 Saturday, March 10
1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

A 45 minute program with story time and crafts.  Kids learn fun facts about the month's featured creature.

Age: Children ages 2 to 6 with an adult
Fee per session: $10/FOZ Member; $15/Non-member
Time: 10:30 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.

January: Giraffes
#140 Friday, January 26
#141 Saturday, January 27
#142 Tuesday, January 30
#143 Wednesday, January 31

February: Milk Snakes
#144 Thursday, February 15
#145 Friday, February 16
#146 Saturday, February 17

March: Rabbits
#147 Tuesday, March 27
#148 Wednesday, March 28
#149 Friday, March 30
#150 Saturday, March 31

April: Emus
#151 Wednesday, April 25
#152 Thursday, April 26
#153 Friday, April 27
#154 Saturday, April 28

May: Mexican Red Wolves
#155 Friday, May 11
#156 Saturday, May 12
#157 Wednesday, May 16

Kindergarten and first graders are invited to join us for our exciting Fall Series lineup. Each three hour class includes a myriad of activities including zoo tours, crafts, animal visits, stories, snack, and more.  Please wear close toed shoes.  Zoo tours are weather dependent.

Age: Students enrolled in kindergarten and 1st grade.  Adults do not stay with children.
Time: 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Fee per session: $20:00/FOZ Member; $30/Non-Member

January: Animal Tracks
#130 Saturday, January 20

February: Who Has a Heart?
Examining the 'lub-dub' in our chests
#131 Saturday, February 10

March: ROAR for Dinosaurs!
#132 Saturday, March 17

April: Funny Bones
#133 Saturday, April 14

Join us at the zoo each month as we focus on a different topic.  From learning about a new animal, to "visiting" a different part of the world, to even trying out a new art technique, there's always so much to see and do at Dickerson Park Zoo!

Age:  Children enrolled in second or third grade
Fee per session:  $20/FOZ Members ; $30/Non-member
Time:  2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

January: Peru & the Andes Mountains
#160 Sunday, January 14

February: Australian Outback
#161 Sunday, February 4

March: Alaska
#162 Sunday, March 4

April: Sahara Desert
#163 Sunday, April 8

Join us at the zoo each month as we focus on a different topic.  From learning about a new animal, to "visiting" a different part of the world, to even trying out a new art technique, there's always so much to see and do at Dickerson Park Zoo!

Age: Children enrolled in fourth or fifth grade
Session fee: $20/Member ; $30/Non-member
Time: 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

January: Peru & the Andes Mountains
#170 Sunday, January 28

February: Australian Outback
#171 Sunday, February 18

March: Alaska
#172 Sunday, March 18

April: Sahara Desert
#173 Sunday, April 22

Claws & Jaws

Spend your Spring Break at the zoo learning about what it takes to be the ultimate predator!  During this two-day camp, we will learn about predator adaptations through biofact exploration and up-close encounters with live animals, as well as through games, crafts, and other fun activities.

Age: Children enrolled in 2nd & 3rd grades
Session fee: $40/FOZ Member ; $55/Non-member
Time: 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
#180 March 12 & 13 (Monday & Tuesday)

Ice Age Adventure

This prehistoric journey takes you back in time to learn about the real life animals of the Ice Age, while comparing those creatures to the modern animals living here at the zoo.  This two-day camp includes animal encounters, crafts, and various fun activities to help make the Pleistocene Epoch come to life.

Age: Children enrolled in 4th & 5th grades
Session fee: $40/FOZ Member ; $55/Non-member
Time: 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
#190 March 14 & 15 (Wednesday & Thursday)

 

High School students interested in veterinary medicine will work with Dickerson Park Zoo's veterinarian Dr. Rodney Schnellbacher.  Spend a day assisting Dr. Schnellbacher and the veterinary staff and see what it is like to care for exotic animals.

Students are required to wear closed-toe shoes and bring their own lunch.

Session fee: $75/FOZ Member ; $100/Non-member
Time: 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

#200 Monday, January 15
#201 Monday, February 19

Teacher & Parent Resources

Education Outreach

Bringing the Zoo to You

Outreach programs for school classrooms, groups and civic organizations “Animal Encounters” for preschools and daycare centers.

Video Conferencing

Dickerson Park Zoo and the Discovery Center are collaborating to offer zoo classes to schools via videoconferencing. Each class is presented by a zoo staff member and will include several live animals.


All About Mammals!

What are mammals? What makes them different? We’ll talk about these things and learn how to classify mammals based on certain characteristics. Fun mammal facts will be presented as we check out some mammals from the zoo! (1-5)


Endangered Animals

Animals play a very important part in this world, but some animals’ existence is threatened. Find out why and what we can do to stop animal extinction. (5-12)


Animal Families

Learn about family groups and structures and how animals raise their young. (PreK-2)


Your Wild Backyard

Our backyards play a very important role in conserving nature. Learn about all the animals found in our backyards, as well as how to attract them and build a healthy backyard habitat. (PreK-5)

All About Birds!

Learn about these feathered animals and their unique features. Birds can be classified by beak size and shape, body size and shape, and even foot size and shape. We’ll learn about these grouping and meet some of the zoo’s birds and use them as live models for learning. (1-5)All About Reptiles!

We’ll learn about these scaled creatures as we use zoo animals to model their amazing features. Learn about the five classes of reptiles and discover the great diversity in reptile morphology. Physical and behavioral adaptations will be discussed. (1-5)

All About Reptiles

We’ll learn about these scaled creatures as we use zoo animals to model their amazing features. Learn about the five classes of reptiles and discover the great diversity in reptile morphology. Physical and behavioral adaptations will be discussed. (1-5)


Animal Awareness

Learn about the characteristics of mammals, birds, and reptiles, as we compare and contrast these animals. We’ll discuss traits as modeled by our live zoo animals. (Pre-K-2)


Cost and Scheduling:

Classes are $150 per video conference. Classes should be booked a minimum of two weeks in advance. To book a video conference or for more information call the Programs Coordinator at:
417-862-9910, ext. 726 or visit the Discovery Center’s Web site.

For more information about education programs at Dickerson Park Zoo and outreach programs for schools and organizations, please contact the Education Department by phone, 417-833-1570, or by email.

Facebook

32,246

Twitter

5,289

GOOGLE+

14

Flickr

120+

YOUTUBE

261
TOP