FORGOT YOUR DETAILS?

CREATE ACCOUNT

Play Short Video

Zoo Education

Zoo Education Broadens the Realization of Animals (Z.E.B.R.A.)

Before registering for a class you must register for our website. It's free and easy. Just use the link below and then you can sign-up for classes once you are logged in.  When you add classes to your cart they are not added to the cart in the main menu My Cart.  They are added to Classes Booking Cart at the very top.  Use that to see your cart.  Additionally, during the booking process, you are presented with buttons to the cart in page.

Fall/Winter 2019 Z.E.B.R.A Classes

This fall, we are doing things a bit differently!  Join us for Dickerson Park Zoo's Tot Book Club!  Hear a great animal-themed fiction book, complete a craft, learn amazing animals facts, and meet a different animal in each class!

Age:    Children ages 2-5 (students who have not yet started kindergarten) with one adult
Time:   10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Fee:     $10/FOZ members, $15/Non-members

September: Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin

#300 Thursday, September 19

#301 Friday, September 20

#302 Saturday, September 21 

October: Do Unto Otters: A Book About Manners by Laurie Keller

#303 Thursday, October 17

#304 Friday, October 18

#305 Saturday, October 19

November: Giraffe Problems by Jory Johns

#306 Friday, November 15

#307 Saturday, November 16

#308 Thursday, November 21 

December: Grumpy Monkey by Suzanne Long

#309 Saturday, December 14

#310 Thursday, December 19

#311 Friday, December 20

A 45-minute program with story time and crafts.  Kids learn fun facts about the month's featured creature. 

Age:    Children 2 to 6 years of age, with an adult
Time:    10:30 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.
Fee:     $10/FOZ members, $15/Non-members

September: Peregrine Falcon

#320 Wednesday, September 25

#321 Friday, September 27

#322 Saturday, September 28 

October: Vietnamese Mossy Frog

#323 Wednesday, October 23

#324 Friday, October 25

#325 Saturday,October 26

November: Donkeys

#326 Friday, November 22

#327 Saturday, November 23

#328 Wednesday, November 27  

December: Black and White Colobus Monkeys

#329 Friday, December 27

#330 Saturday, December 28

The fall, travel the world with our exciting Kindergarten/1st grade classes!  Each three-hour class includes an imaginary tour of our featured country including crafts, animal visits, stories, regional snacks, and more. Please wear closed-toe shoes and dress for the weather. Zoo tours are weather dependent.

Age:    Students enrolled in kindergarten or 1st grade; adults do not stay with child.
Time:   1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Fee:     $20/FOZ members, $30/Non-members

September: Brazil

#312 Saturday, September 21

October: Democratic Republic of the Congo

#313 Saturday, October 19

November: New Zealand

#314 Saturday, November 16 

December: Mongolia

#315 Saturday, December 28

Join us each month as we focus on a different topic, from learning about a new animal, to “visiting” a different part of the
world, to even trying out a new art technique.


Age:    Grades 2 & 3
Time:    2-4 p.m.
Fee:     $20/FOZ members, $30/Non-members

#331 Sunday, September 15 : Flamingos

#332 Sunday, October 13 : Lemurs

#333 Sunday, November 10 : Elephants

#334 Sunday, December 8 : Bears

Join us each month as we focus on a different topic, from learning about a new animal, to “visiting” a different part of the
world, to even trying out a new art technique.


Age:    Grades 4-6
Time:    2-4 p.m.
Fee:     $20/FOZ members, $30/Non-members

#331 Sunday, September 15 : Flamingos

#332 Sunday, October 13 : Lemurs

#333 Sunday, November 10 : Elephants

#334 Sunday, December 8 : Bears

If you prefer paper registration use the button to the right to download the printable registration form.

Z.E.B.R.A. Classes at Dickerson Park Zoo open the amazing world of animals to children from tots to teens. Encourage curiosity, appreciation and wonder with up-close animal encounters where students learn through hands-on activities and experiences, crafts, stories and games, all designed to instill a lifelong love of learning and animal conservation and care.  All education classes take place in the Gaska Family Education Wing building located a short drive from the front gate.  See map for details.  Registration for classes closes at noon one day prior to date of the class to allow teachers time to prepare.  

The ideal program for schools and civic organizations.

Add an amazing animal class to your field trip.

Video conferences shared around the world.

Teacher & Parent Resources

Facebook

32,246

Twitter

5,289

GOOGLE+

14

Flickr

120+

YOUTUBE

261
TOP